I should probably start off by conceding that I did not actually watch the entire Emmy’s show. That’s right I’m going to criticize something I know nothing about. (I know you’d think I was a talk radio host.) Be that as it may, I can’t imagine the folks at NBC slept well that night. I’m sure they had nightmares about being in a plane crash.

Every year at every awards show the goal is to create an opening skit that is better than the year before. The skit typically parodies some of the more popular shows. This year was no exception. The skit began with Emmy Host Conan O’Brien getting ready for the show. He is shown boarding a plane. As the flight attendant asks if he is nervous about the show, he responds with “Nervous? What could possibly go wrong?” The plane then begins to shake as if it is going down. The next shot is O’Brien emerging on a deserted
Island similar to the one from the TV show Lost. The skit was funny, yes, but lacked taste. The problem was that skit took place on the same day that 49 people died in a plane crash in
Kentucky.

Now, I understand that months of planning (I would assume) go into the opening sketch. I will even grant them the fact that they probably took out the part where you actually see the plane go down, although the skit may have always lacked the actual crash. (Emmy producer Ken Ehrlich wouldn’t comment about the skit). But at the very least they could have informed the local
Kentucky affiliates about the skit so they could have made a decision about whether they wanted to air it (we’ll get to that in a second). Instead WLEX staff was caught off guard and were left “completely helpless” GM Tim Gilbert told the Lexington Herald-Leader. “By the time we began to react, it was over. At the station, we were as horrified as they were at home,” he said. (Click here for the full story.)

But I wonder just what would WLEX have done had they known about the skit. Had they made the decision not to air it, what would they put in its place? If you go to a promo or commercials how do you transition back?

And one last note about the Emmy’s that was pointed out in Lost Remote. Apparently they could rack up $1.95 million in fines. Click here to find out why.

